Microsoft Word 2003 Security and Privacy

Warn Before Printing or Distributing Documents with Tracked Changes

Summary: Help prevent embarrassing comments and changes from appearing in distributed Microsoft Word 2003 documents.

Microsoft Word 2003 allows you and coworkers to perform group document proofreading. This can be done through comments and change tracking, making it easy to see who requested particular document modifications.

Unfortunately, it is very easy to accidentally distribute or print documents with comments or change-tracking information to the outside world. This can lead to potentially embarrassing situations. For example, if you have a standard contract template, a change-tracked document might contain the hidden name of a company with which you had previously performed a service. If you wanted that service relationship to be private, distributing the contract to another company might inadvertently 'let the cat out of the bag'.

While you should remain careful when distributing or printing documents, Microsoft Word 2003 can be configured to warn you before saving or printing documents containing such hidden information. This way, hopefully, you will not accidentally deliver confidential information to the outside world.

1. Select "Tools" - "Options".

2. When the "Options" dialog box appears, click the "Security" tab.

3. Check "Warn before printing, saving or sending a file that contains tracked changes or comments".

4. Click "OK" to save your settings.

Add: Del.icio.us | Digg | Furl | My Yahoo!

Last Modified on: July 13, 2008, at 12:04 A.M. EDT

Return to the Microsoft Word 2003 Security and Privacy page.

Print this tip.

- Subscribe!